This morning my teacher wrote on the board “When was the last time you walked away from something or someone”

i wrote:

I can’t remember a time where i walked away from something or someone. I know i have at some point in my life, but right now the only walking i remember is me coming to school this morning. This thought lead me to all the memories i had walking to school. As a child and newly landed immigrant my siblings and i would hold hands and walk to school. Then slowly as the years passed and my siblings graduated i had less hands to hold, which motivated me to make friends so that at least if i if i didn’t have any hands to hold; i had companions which walked the same path as i did. The same companions i walked to school with this morning. So i guess what i’m trying to say is that, although i do not recall walking away from someone i do remember walking next to them.

Leave a Reply

